The Salton sundials


This sundial has been prepared for the 90th anniversary of "Vinhos Salton SA" a wine company located in Salton, Brazil (latitude 29° 5' South, longitude 51° 33' West). The sundial lays on the pediment of the main building (see the image above representing the project sketch).


Salton vineyard


The mottoe "AD MM - PAX" which reads in latin: Anno Domini (year of the Lord) MM (for 2000), PAX (peace). Below the date, a border made of branches of almond tree, with a hummingbird sipping nectar, symbolizes the harmony of nature and the love between creatures.

The sundial occupies the central part of the pediment. It is made of Italian marbles, granites from various origins, special enamels, semi-precious stones and a special type of mosaic gold (a 24-carat slice of gold enclosed in two glass layers); this mosaic contains more than 24 kg of this material!

The sundial shows the Solar time. Hour lines are given every quarters. Declinations lines are drawn for the solstices, the equinox and each Zodiac change dates. A special line drawn for the 25th of August recalls the inauguration date of "Vinhos Salton SA". Around the noon line, the 8-shape curve of the equation of time gives the time difference between Solar time and Civil time. This difference must be added by the longitude difference 26 min 11 s.


The lateral parts are made of Italian marbles, granites and semi-precious stones, represent leaves, branches, grapes (its a wine company) and animals usually found in vines fields during grapes harvesting: birds (symbolizing music), dragonflies and butterflies - especially a blue butterfly (symbolizing poetry)- and bees (symbolizing work).

The mosaic is made in a mix style between Roma and Venice styles, and is made of mode than half a million of tessels! It has been realized by Cinthia Moran Andrea, Fabiano Petozzi and Leonardo Posenato, plus height assistants. The sundial has been calculated thanks to the Shadows program of François Blateyron, who has accompanied the project. The sundial has been designed by the architects Adriana Florin and Júlio Posenato, also authors of the architectonic complex of Salton.

The sundial was inaugurated on the 25th of August, 2000 in the presence of the Mayor and press. Unfortunately the rain has invited itself but the ceremony was nevertheless beautiful. Next to the building is an antique chapel (Notre-Dame des Douleurs) where the ceremony was organized, and a choral sung the Haendel's alleluia.


Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge.

In 2001, another sundial was installed on the same building, on the Eastern facade. It measures 2,80 x 1,60 m and is made in black granite.
The mottoe is in "Talian", an old dialect coming from italian immigrant who came in Brazil. It is probably the first time in the world that a mottoe is using that language!
The picture shows the sundial while it is not completely finished, the hours lines should be highlighted with colors.


Text by Júlio Posenato

Les cadrans de salton

Ce cadran a été réalisé pour les 90 ans de l'entreprise Viticole "Vinhos Salton SA" située dans la ville de Salton, au sud du Brésil (latitude 29° 5' Sud, longitude 51° 33' ouest). Le cadran occupe tout le fronton de l'entrée principale du bâtiment (voir l'image ci-dessus du projet architectural).


Fronton du bâtiment principal orné d'un grand cadran solaire en mosaïque



La devise "AD MM - PAX" signifie en latin : Anno Domini (année du seigneur) MM (pour 2000), PAX (paix). Sous la date, une bordure de rameaux d'amandiers d'où un colibri tire le nectar, symbolise le désir d'harmonie dans la nature et l'amour parmi les créatures.

Le cadran occupe la base central du fronton. Il est constitué de marbres italiens, de granits de divers lieux du monde, d'émaux spéciaux, de pierres semi-précieuses et d'or spécial pour mosaïque (une lame d'or 24 carats entre deux couches de verre ; cette mosaïque comporte 42 kilos de ce matériau).

Le style donne l'heure solaire vraie qui varie plus ou moins au cours de l'année par rapport à l'heure légale. Les lignes horaires sont espacées tous les quarts d'heure. Les lignes de déclinaison repèrent les solstices, les équinoxes et les changements des constellations du zodiaque. Une ligne spécial, en or, montre le jour du 25 août, date anniversaire de l'inauguration de "Vinhos Salton SA". Entourant le ligne du midi, la courbe en huit, l'équation du temps, indique l'écart en minutes séparant l'heure solaire de l'heure moyenne (que l'on additionne à l'écart en longitude de 26 min 11s).


Les parties latérales, faites avec des marbres italiens, granits, émaux et pierres semi-précieuses, consistent en des rameaux, des feuilles de vignes et des raisins (la matière-première du vin), avec les animaux présents dans les vignes à l'époque de la maturation des raisins : des oiseaux (symbolisant la musique), des libellules et des papillons - spécialement un caractéristique papillon bleu (la poésie) - et des abeilles (le travail).

La mosaïque, fait dans un style intermédiaire entre les styles de Rome et Venise, est constituée de plus d'un demi million de tesselles (pièces) ! Elle a été exécutée par les mosaïstes Cinthia Moran Andrea, Fabiano Petozzi et Leonardo Posenato, plus huit assistants. Le cadran a été calculé grâce au logiciel Shadows de François Blateyron, lequel a accompagné le projet, puis le cadran a été élaboré par les architectes Adriana Florin et Júlio Posenato, auteurs également des projets architectoniques du Complexe Salton.

Le cadran a été inauguré le 25 août 2000 en présence du maire et de la presse. La pluie s'est malheureusement invitée aussi, mais la cérémonie a été très belle. A côté du bâtiment se trouve l'antique chapelle de Notre-Dame des Douleurs ; la cérémonie s'est faite là-bas et une chorale a chanté l'alléluia de Handel.


En 2001, un autre cadran est venu compléter la décoration du bâtiment. Il s'agit cette fois d'un cadran posé sur la façade Est. Il mesure environ 2,80 x 1,60 m et est gravé dans du granit noir.
Il comporte une devise en "Talian", un dialecte local issu des immigrants italiens venus au Brésil. C'est probablement la première fois au monde qu'une devise de cadran solaire utilise cette langue !
Le cadran tel que montré sur la photo n'est pas tout à fait terminé, les lignes devant être rehaussées de couleurs.


Texte original de Júlio Posenato.